Department of Environmental Science is offering P.G. programme i.e., M.Sc. in Environmental Science. The Department is working as interdisciplinary centre to learn and disseminate the knowledge in various aspect of environment by offering M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree to students. Presently, there are 34 P.G. students, 45 Research scholars & 03 PDF’s working in diverse fields of Environmental Sciences. The Department is having well experienced faculties and well equipped laboratories. There is special emphasis on research and development in core areas of environmental studies such as Climate change, Environmental Impact Assessment, Toxicology, Bioremediation, Environmental Biotechnology and microbiology, microbial ecology and Natural Resource Management. The Course curriculum is designed with the help of experts from academia and Industries to train the manpower required to work in the field of Environmental sciences. The Department of Environmental Science is also having research programmes funded by DBT, DST, CSIR, Science & Technology, UP. The Department of Environmental Science (DES) came into existence in 1997 under the School for Environmental Science (SES), These programs provide students with a high-quality environmental education that includes experience with research and field training. The Department intends to impart special training to students who can easily handle the emerging environmental problems of various kinds faced by the industries and the society on the both technological and environmental fronts. There are four Professors, three Associate Professor and three Assistant Professors in the Department from diverse fields of specialization ranging from Environmental Microbiology. Stress biology, Environmental Biotechnology, Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), Environmental Toxicology, Environmental Chemistry, Microbial Ecology and Environmental Modeling and Management.

The Department has also signed MOU with various research organizations working in the areas of Environmental Science such as Indian Institute of Toxicological Research (IITR), National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI) and Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP). During the last 5 years, more than 55 postgraduate students of this department have qualified in NET/GATE organized by UGC/ICAR/AICTE etc. The Department has been included in the FIST Programme of Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India and received a sum of Rs. 50 lacs for improvement of infrastructural and research facilities in the department. The Department also organizes regular seminars during weekends for the students where students speak on topic of their choice in order to harness their oration skills and to create general awareness among them on different aspects of environmental issues. Department is also actively organizing special Programme on current topics in the field of environmental sciences from time to time. Department takes pride in not missing the celebration of national Science, World Wetlands Day, Ozone Day, World Environment Day, Wildlife-week, World Water Day, International Conference on Environmental Technology and Sustainable Development: Challenges and Remedies and workshop on and Workshop on Mainstreaming Climate Change Adaptation & Disaster Risk Reduction . Students regularly participate in various extra-curricular activities such as debate competition, essay writing, cultural and sports activities organized by the University. Involvement of students in field and dissertation works helps students to establish relationship with professional organizations that help them in their extension studies and placements. One semester of dissertation work provides critical real-world experience for our students, preparing them for successful careers.

Course Details

S.NO. Name of Course Duration of course Intake Eligibility Criteria Tuition fees per Semester
1 M.Sc.(Environmental Science) 02 Years 30 Graduate Degree with 50% marks (45% for SC/ST/PH), in Agricultural/Life Science/Home Science and their allied subject Rs 1500/-
No. of Seats Vacant in Ph.D. Programme: Under Reserved Category: 01,    Under General Category: 01

Initially the course of B.Sc. (Hons.) Geology was started under the aegis of School of Environmental Science in the year 2015. In the year 2018 the course was shifted to Department of Earth Sciences (DES) in the School of Earth and Ocean Science. The Department offers major academic programme providing impetus to the study of geology in the Northern Region of India. The Department offers full time B.Sc. (Hons.) Geology with the duration of 3 years. The Department is offering the courses with the team of experienced, well qualified and highly motivated faculty.

The Department is emerging as a leading institution in the field of Geology showing its paramount aspirations to explore and excite all the individuals to pursue all the aspects and approaches of advanced mineralogy, petrology, geodynamics, geochemistry, paleontology & oceanography, metamorphism &orogens, groundwater geology, applied stratigraphy, natural hazard and disaster management. Equal emphasis is laid on practical training and field based skills and laboratory studies. The Department is well equipped with spacious classrooms, advanced laboratory, computer labs and departmental library.

Besides the departmental infrastructure, students and faculty have access to various facilities of other departments and centres. The department is perpetually advancing to create a quality atmosphere in pragmatics as well as aesthetics in geology.

Courses Details

S.NO. Name of Course Duration of course Intake Eligibility Criteria Tuition fees per Semester
1 B.Sc. (Hons.) Geology 3 years 40 Intermediate* with 50% marks (45% for SC/ST/PH) in Science and their subject Rs. 15,000/-*


Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University (A Central University) Vidya Vihar, Raebareli Road Lucknow - 226025

  • (+91) 9455147267,(+91) 9044470049
    Timing: 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM;
    The timing should be strictly followed